Team Simulation

The focus within the simulation team lies on the detailed description and characterization of lithium-ion cells. On the one hand, modeling and simulation tools are used to describe electrochemical, thermal, and mechanical effects. For that purpose, coupled models based on partial differential equations are developed. On the other hand, different characterization methods for lithium-ion cells are utilized and advanced to parameterize and validate these models. The investigated topics range from the cell design over optimized operation strategies to the examination of aging mechanisms.

Current research topics:

  • Evaluation of cells with new active materials
  • Mechanical bracing of cells within test benches
  • Characterization via coulometry and calorimetry
  • Optimization of cell design and tab placement
  • Coupling of electrochemical and mechanical models
  • Aging analysis and Lifetime forecast

Selected publications

Impact of Current Collector Design and Cooling Topology on Fast charging of cylindrical lithium-ion batteries

Alexander Frank, Johannes Sturm, Marco Steinhardt, Alexander Rheinfeld, Andreas Jossen

 

 

Experimental Analysis of Short-Circuit Scenarios Applied to Silicon-Graphite/Nickel-Rich Lithium-Ion Batteries

J. Sturm, S. Friedrich, S. Genies, D. Buzon, Rahn-Koltermann G., A. Rheinfeld, Jossen A

 

 

The Role of Silicon in Silicon-Graphite Composite Electrodes Regarding Specific Capacity, Cycle Stability, and Expansion

Erfan Moyassari, Thomas Roth, Simon Kücher, Chia-Chin Chang, Shang-Chieh Hou, Franz B. Spingler, Andreas Jossen

Team members
Aufschläger, Andreas; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26975 andreas.aufschlaeger@tum.de Room: 1015 Portrait
Bosch, Hannah +49 (89) 289 - 26977 hannah.bosch@tum.de Room: 1008 No image
Durdel, Axel; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26961 axel.durdel@tum.de Room: 1018 Portrait
Frank, Alexander; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 alexander.af.frank@tum.de Room: 1020 Portrait
Friedrich, Sven; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26961 sven.friedrich@tum.de Room: 1018 Portrait
Hamar, Jacob; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26967 jacob.hamar@tum.de Room: 1016 Portrait
Kücher, Simon; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26965 simon.kuecher@tum.de Room: 1014 Portrait
Kunz, Alexander; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26975 alexander.kunz@tum.de Room: 1015 Portrait
Moyassari Sardehaei, Erfan; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26974 erfan.moyassari@tum.de Room: 1019 Portrait
Roth, Thomas; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26972 thomas.roth@tum.de Room: 1019 Portrait
Schabenberger, Tom; M.Eng. +49 (89) 289 - 26960 tom.schabenberger@tum.de Room: 1014 Portrait
Scheller, Maximilian; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 maximilian.scheller@tum.de Room: 1020 Portrait
Streck, Luiza; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26962 luiza.streck@tum.de Room: 1019 Portrait
Zhao, Yulong; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26983 yulong.zhao@tum.de Room: 1008 Portrait